InFoMM Annual Meeting

InFoMM Annual Meeting 2018

Date: Friday 16 March 2018

Location: St Catherines College, University of Oxford

InFoMM hosted our fourth Annual Meeting with a celebration of the innovative research taking place within the CDT. The day consisted of talks by academics and students, a poster display, a keynote lecture, and a lavish lunch, reception and dinner.  The meeting was a huge scientific, networking and social occasion attended by 119 people including 36 industrialists from 29 companies. Student talks were given in three parallel sessions by 22 InFoMM students in their third and fourth years of study, who each spoke about research being undertaken with Industrial Partners as part of their DPhil.  A vast range of topics were discussed, including “Analysis of the cereal extrusion process”(Michael McPhail, Nestle), “Communities in multilayer product-purchase networks” (Roxana Pamfil, dunnhumby), and “Improving the efficiency of derivative-free methods for nonlinear least square problems” (Lindon Roberts, NAG).  Faculty from the Mathematical Institute also spoke in parallel talks with  Professor Jon Chapman discussing "Effective transport properties on lattices”, Dr. Heather Harrington speaking about “Data and Networks” and Professor Jared Tanner talk about “Compressed sensing with expander graphs”.  The keynote lecture, by Prof Champneys of Bristol University, revealed intricacies of dynamical systems covering the topic of “The dynamics of friction - from earthquakes to rat’s whiskers and robotic judder.”  Between sessions, participants had time to enjoy posters on display by InFoMM students in Cohort 3 who began their DPhil research projects in October 2017. There were also lots of discussions with Cohort 4 students ( who are in their first year) and a few Cohort 5 students, for whom this was their first encounter with Oxford style applied maths.  We were delighted to be joined by so many faculty, industrial partner representatives, and new company staff; as well as other InFoMM friends and associates.  

PDF icon Full program.pdf

PDF icon All abstracts.pdf

Previous Annual Meetings Keynotes:

2018: Alan Champneys; The dynamics of friction - from earthquakes to rat's whiskers and robotic judder

2017: John Billingham; Energy beam processing: simple models for complex surfaces

2016: Chris Budd; Models for climate: the good, the bad and the ugly