Minutes

$1^{\rm st}$ MURC Meeting of Hilary Term

Meeting commenced at 11:02am and concluded at 12:18pm on $24^{\rm th}$ January 2021.

Contents

1	Attendance	2
2	Elections of Executive Committee	3
3	Elections of College Representatives	4
4	Questionnaire Asking About Improving the Well-being of Students	4

1 Attendance

Name	Office(s)
Rodrigo Marlasca Aparicio	President
	Merton College Representative
Amirul Adil	Secretary
Thomas Feerick	First Year Representative
	Christ Church College Representative
Rachel Laing	Questionnaire Representative
	Maths and Stats Representative
	New College Representative
Ryan Salter	IT Officer
	Fourth Year Representative
Beth Thomas	Outreach Representative
Catherine Downie	Exeter College Representative
Abel Ayettey	-
James Booth	-
Lucy Greenwood	-
Sarah Howard	-
Marcelina Jagielka	-
Giulia Lanzafame	-
Cameron Lee	-
Abhinav Mukerjee	-
Nadja Vohradsky	-
Bethan White	-
Jingjje Yang	-

2 Elections of Executive Committee

Treasurer:

James Booth and Thomas Feerick both stood for the position of Treasurer. There were 3 votes for James, 8 votes for Thomas, and 1 abstention. Thomas was elected as Treasurer, succeeding Heidi Fang.

Secretary:

Amirul Adil stood for the position of Secretary. There were 10 votes for Amirul, and 2 votes to reopen nominations. Amirul was re-elected as Secretary.

Questionnaire Rep:

James Booth and Abel Ayettey both stood for the position of Questionnaire Rep.

There were 7 votes for James, and 8 votes for Abel. Abel was elected as Questionnaire Rep, succeeding Rachel Laing.

Diversity and Inclusion Rep:

Giulia Lanzafame stood for the position of Diversity and Inclusion Rep. There were 13 votes for Giulia, 1 vote to reopen nominations, and 1 abstention. Giulia was elected elected as Diversity and Inclusion Rep, succeeding Emma Abou-Haidar Ventura.

Outreach Rep:

Cameron Lee stood for the position of Outreach Rep. There were 12 votes for Cameron, and 2 votes to reopen nominations. Cameron was elected as Outreach Rep, succeeding Beth Thomas.

Maths and Computer Science Rep:

Jingjje Yang stood for the position of Maths and Computer Science Rep. There were 13 votes for Jingjje to no opposition. Jingjje was elected as Maths and Computer Science Rep.

Maths and Philosophy Rep:

Giulia Lanzafame stood for the position of Maths and Philosophy Rep. There were 10 votes for Giulia, and 1 abstention. Giulia was elected as Maths and Philosophy Rep.

Maths and Statistics Rep:

Rachel Laing and Abhinav Mukherjee both stood for the position of Maths and Statistics Rep.

There were 9 votes for Rachel, and 3 votes for Abhinav. Rachel was re-elected as Maths and Statistics Rep.

IT Officer:

Ryan Salter stood for the position of IT Officer. There were 12 votes for Ryan to no opposition.

Ryan was re-elected IT Officer.

Publicity and Careers Rep:

Abhinav Mukherjee and Catherine Downie both stood for the position of Publicity and Careers Rep.

There were 6 votes for Abhinav, and 5 votes for Catherine.

Abhinav was elected as Publicity and Careers Rep.

Freshers' Rep:

The position of Freshers' Rep remains vacant.

3 Elections of College Representatives

St Peter's College Rep:

Lucy Greenwood has been elected as St Peter's College Rep to no objections.

Wadham College Rep:

Marcelina Jagielka has been elected as Wadham College Rep to no objections.

University College Rep:

Jingjje Yang has been elected as University College Rep to no objections.

4 Questionnaire Asking About Improving the Well-being of Students

A questionnaire was sent to all maths students on what the Maths Department could do to improve the mental well-being of students during the COVID-19 pandemic. One area of importance would be changing some aspects of the exams in Trinity Term when accounting for the obstacles many students met in the last year. The Committee is trying to get a safety net for exams in place.