

The London Mathematical Society



Mathematical Institute

The London Mathematical Society (LMS) was founded for the promotion and extension of mathematical knowledge – the first meeting in 1865 was chaired by Augustus De Morgan, best known for De Morgan's Laws. The LMS has members and partners from all over the world and is the UK adhering body to the International Mathematical Union. Its principal activities are the organisation of meetings and conferences and the publication of journals and books.



John Henry Constantine Whitehead

LMS President 1904–1960,

Waynflete Professor of Pure

Mathematics 1947–1960



LMS President 1965–1967, Waynflete Professor of Pure Mathematics 1960–1984

Michael Francis Atiyah LMS President 1974–1976, Savilian Professor of Geometry 1963–1969, Royal Society Research Professor 1972–1990

James Joseph Sylvester LMS President 1814–1897, Savilian Professor of Geometry 1883–1897

Edward Charles Titchmarsh

Savilian Professor of Geometry

LMS President 1899–1963,

1932–1963

Oxford Mathematics