Monday, 25 June 2007

LMS Prizes 2007

Congratulations to:

  • Bryan Birch, who has been awarded the De Morgan Medal in recognition of his influential contributions to modern number theory. The LMS announcement says: `In particular, Professor Birch worked with Professor Sir Peter Swinnerton-Dyer, of the University of Cambridge, to create a new area of arithmetic algebraic geometry. Together they formulated the Birch-Swinnerton-Dyer conjectures. Despite the best efforts of some of the greatest mathematical minds these remarkable conjectures are still open after 40 years and are amongst seven classic unsolved mathematical problems identified by the Clay Mathematics Institute in Cambridge, Massachusetts. The Institute is offering $1 million prizes for their proofs.'
  • Nikolay Nikolov, who has been awarded a Whitehead Prize for his significant contributions to group theory, in particular for several important advances in group theory, especially in profinite groups and asymptotic aspects of arithmetic groups and finite simple groups.
  • Oliver Riordan, who joins the Institute in October. He has also been awarded a Whitehead Prize, for his major contributions to graph polynomials, random graphs, extremal combinatorics, models of large-scale real-world graphs, and percolation theory.
Sunday, 17 December 2006

Rosemary Dyson wins Divisional Prize for Student Talk

OCIAM student Rosemary Dyson has won a prize in the Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences Graduate Student Prize Symposium for her presentation, "The Mathematics of Curtain Coating".

Tuesday, 3 October 2006

John Ockendon awarded the 2006 IMA Gold Medal

The IMA Gold Medal is awarded in alternate years in recognition of outstanding contributions to mathematics and its applications over a period of years. This year the medal was awarded to John Ockendon. John will be the guest lecturer at the IMA 2007 Summer Lecture on 27 June 2007, when he will be presented with his gold medal.

Friday, 18 August 2006

Recognising and Rewarding Excellence in Teaching

We are please to announce the following awards:

Individual achievement

  • Prof. Jon Chapman
  • Dr Janet Dyson
  • Dr Karin Erdmann
  • Dr Ben Hambly
  • Dr Keith Hannabuss
  • Prof. Roger Heath-Brown
  • Dr Peter Howell
  • Dr Sam Howison
  • Prof. Marc Lackenby
  • Prof. Hilary Priestley
  • Prof. Terry Lyons
  • Prof. Alex Wilkie

Course development

  • Integration (Prof. Alison Etheridge)
  • Maple
  • Organisation by subject of past examination questions (small pilot)
Monday, 10 July 2006

Recognition of Distinction

Congratulations to Professor Victor Flynn, Professor Marc Lackenby, Professor Hilary Priestley, and Professor Alex Scott on the award of the title of Professor, and to Dr John Lennox on the award of the title of Reader.

Wednesday, 5 July 2006
Thursday, 4 May 2006

Gareth Jones wins SIAM UK-Ireland presentation prize

Gareth Jones was one of three students given prizes at the 2006 BAMC by SIAM UK-Ireland for a postgraduate presentation. It was entitled "Buckling of a spherical shell embedded in an elastic matrix with a uniaxial stress field at infinity".

Thursday, 9 March 2006
Thursday, 19 January 2006
Tuesday, 3 January 2006