Monday, 13 July 2009
Friday, 3 July 2009

LMS prizes awarded to Roger Heath-Brown, Philip Maini, and Cornelia Drutu

Pólya Prize - awarded in recognition of outstanding creativity in, imaginative exposition of, or distinguished contribution to, mathematics within the United Kingdom

The Pólya Prize is awarded to Professor Roger Heath-Brown, of the University of Oxford, for his many contributions within analytic number theory, and his dynamic application of analytic methods in wide-ranging investigations of problems spanning number theory and arithmetic geometry.

Throughout his career, Heath-Brown has regularly produced papers that have resolved long-standing problems or have presented novel techniques that have decisively changed the landscape. He has been able to devise variations of well-established techniques that permit conclusions going well beyond what was previously thought to be possible. In consequence, he is responsible for many of the sharpest conclusions available in the most important problems stretching across analytic number theory and beyond.

Naylor Prize and Lectureship - awarded in recognition of work in and influence on Applied Mathematics or the Applications of Mathematics; or lecturing gifts

The Naylor Prize and Lectureship in Applied Mathematics is awarded to Professor Philip Maini, of the University of Oxford, in recognition of his contributions to, and influence on, the field of mathematical biology.

In recent years, mathematical biology has experienced very rapid growth, and has established itself as an area that is driving the evolution of much new mathematics, as well as having an increasing impact on the biological sciences. Maini has been at the forefront of many of these developments. Many of the problems that he studies necessitate the formulation and analysis of new models, requiring him to bring to bear both knowledge of the relevant biology and mathematical skills. He is unsurpassed by his peers at the art and science of formulating tractable mathematical models of complex biological processes.

Whitehead Prize

A Whitehead Prize is awarded to Dr Cornelia Druţu, of the University of Oxford, for her work in geometric group theory.

Wednesday, 1 July 2009

Raphael Rouquier awarded Elie Cartan Prize

Raphael Rouquier has been awarded the Elie Cartan Prize from the French Academy of Sciences.

This is a triennial prize awarded to a mathematician aged under 45, of any nationality, who has accomplished an important body of work, either through the introduction of new ideas or by solving a difficult problem.

The prize was created in 1980 and the previous winners are Dennis Sullivan, Mikhail Gromov, Johannes Sjostrand, Jean Bourgain, Clifford Taubes, Don Zagier, Laurent Clozel, Jean-Benoit Bost and Emmanuel Ullmo.

Friday, 1 May 2009

John Ockendon, Nick Trefethen and Nick Gould honoured with SIAM Fellowships

SIAM membership approved the SIAM Fellows Program in 2008 to designate as Fellows of the Society certain members who have made outstanding contributions to fields served by SIAM.

SIAM has named 183 Fellows for key contributions to applied mathematics and computational science in 2009 including John Ockendon, Nick Trefethen and Nick Gould.

Friday, 10 April 2009

Raphaël Rouquier wins the 2009 Adams Prize

The Adams Prize is awarded jointly each year by the Faculty of Mathematics and St John's College Cambridge to a young (normally under 40 years of age), UK-based researcher doing first class international research in the Mathematical Sciences.

This year's topic was Representation Theory, and the Prize has been awarded to Professor Raphaël Rouquier of the Mathematical Institute, University of Oxford.

Professor Timothy Pedley, Chairman of the Adams Prize Adjudicators, said:

The quality, depth and influence of Professor Rouquier's work is already highly impressive. He has a long list of fundamental results, extending back to the late 1990s, on both the two main areas of representation theory: representations of general finite-dimensional algebras and derived categories, and representations of Lie groups in various forms.

Every one of the six papers submitted by Professor Rouquier has already had a major impact, despite the fact that no fewer than four of them were published in 2008 alone.

For further information see the original Cambridge University news article

Friday, 8 August 2008

Recognising and Rewarding Excellence in Teaching 2008

We are pleased to announce the following awards:

Lifetime Achievement Awards go to Dr David Acheson and Dr Peter Neumann O.B.E.

A New Appointee Award goes to Prof Tom Witelski.

Teaching Development Awards go to Dr Jan Grabowski, Prof Roger Heath-Brown, Prof Alison Etheridge, Prof Victor Flynn, and Dr Anne Henke

Tuesday, 29 July 2008

Recognition of Distinction

Congratulations to Michael Collins, John Lennox, and John Ockendon on the conferment of the title of Professor of Mathematics, and to Andrew Dancer and Xenia de la Ossa on the conferment of the title Reader in Mathematics.

Thursday, 17 July 2008
Thursday, 10 July 2008
Monday, 7 July 2008