Tuesday, 20 May 2008
Tuesday, 1 April 2008
Monday, 4 February 2008
Friday, 25 January 2008

Ulrike Tillmann receives a Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award

Prof. Dr. Ulrike Luise Tillmann, has been elected the recipient of a Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award.

This award is conferred in recognition of lifetime achievements in research. The awardee is invited to carry out research projects of her own choice in cooperation with specialist colleagues in Germany, promoting international scientific cooperation.






Wednesday, 2 January 2008
Tuesday, 4 December 2007

Mason Porter awarded Young Investigator Award in the Physical Sciences and Engineering

Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Society, has awarded Mason Porter the 2008 Young Investigator Award in the physical sciences and engineering. The award is to be accepted at the 2008 Sigma Xi Annual Meeting and Student Research Conference that will take place November 20-23, 2008 in Washington, D.C..

The Award includes an honorarium of $5,000, a Certificate of Recognition, and the opportunity to present the 2008 Young Investigator Award Lecture at the Society’s Annual Meeting to an audience of distinguished scientists and engineers as well as 200-250 undergraduate and graduate students participating in the Student Research Conference.

This selection marks the eleventh presentation of the Young Investigator Award. The Society’s Board of Directors established the Award in 1996 “to recognize researchers in the early stages of their careers whose outstanding contributions best exemplify the ideals of Sigma Xi.” The Award recognizes individuals within 10 years of earning their highest graduate degree for their scientific achievements, interdisciplinary research, and the ability to communicate the significance of their achievements to the public. The Award recognizes the physical sciences and engineering in even numbered years and the life and social sciences in odd numbered years.

Friday, 14 September 2007

Recognising and Rewarding Excellence in Teaching

The Mathematical Institute is pleased to announce the following awards for excellence in teaching.

  • Group award (Mathematical Finance team) - Dr Jeff Dewynne, Dr Ben Hambly, Dr Sam Howison, Dr Michael Monoyios, and Dr Christoph Reisinger
  • Individual awards - Dr Andrew Dancer, Dr Alan Day, Dr Anne Henke, Dr Glenys Luke, Dr Hilary Ockendon, Dr John Ockendon, Dr Zhongmin Qian
Wednesday, 11 July 2007

Royal Society Hughes Medal

The 2007 Hughes Medal has been awarded to Professor Artur Ekert for his pioneering work on quantum cryptography and his many important contributions to the theory of quantum computation and other branches of quantum physics.

Further detail are available.

Monday, 25 June 2007

LMS Prizes 2007

Congratulations to:

  • Bryan Birch, who has been awarded the De Morgan Medal in recognition of his influential contributions to modern number theory. The LMS announcement says: `In particular, Professor Birch worked with Professor Sir Peter Swinnerton-Dyer, of the University of Cambridge, to create a new area of arithmetic algebraic geometry. Together they formulated the Birch-Swinnerton-Dyer conjectures. Despite the best efforts of some of the greatest mathematical minds these remarkable conjectures are still open after 40 years and are amongst seven classic unsolved mathematical problems identified by the Clay Mathematics Institute in Cambridge, Massachusetts. The Institute is offering $1 million prizes for their proofs.'
  • Nikolay Nikolov, who has been awarded a Whitehead Prize for his significant contributions to group theory, in particular for several important advances in group theory, especially in profinite groups and asymptotic aspects of arithmetic groups and finite simple groups.
  • Oliver Riordan, who joins the Institute in October. He has also been awarded a Whitehead Prize, for his major contributions to graph polynomials, random graphs, extremal combinatorics, models of large-scale real-world graphs, and percolation theory.
Sunday, 17 December 2006

Rosemary Dyson wins Divisional Prize for Student Talk

OCIAM student Rosemary Dyson has won a prize in the Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences Graduate Student Prize Symposium for her presentation, "The Mathematics of Curtain Coating".