Awards & Prizes News

Raphael Rouquier awarded Elie Cartan Prize

Raphael Rouquier has been awarded the Elie Cartan Prize from the French Academy of Sciences.

This is a triennial prize awarded to a mathematician aged under 45, of any nationality, who has accomplished an important body of work, either through the introduction of new ideas or by solving a difficult problem.

The prize was created in 1980 and the previous winners are Dennis Sullivan, Mikhail Gromov, Johannes Sjostrand, Jean Bourgain, Clifford Taubes, Don Zagier, Laurent Clozel, Jean-Benoit Bost and Emmanuel Ullmo.

John Ockendon, Nick Trefethen and Nick Gould honoured with SIAM Fellowships

SIAM membership approved the SIAM Fellows Program in 2008 to designate as Fellows of the Society certain members who have made outstanding contributions to fields served by SIAM.

SIAM has named 183 Fellows for key contributions to applied mathematics and computational science in 2009 including John Ockendon, Nick Trefethen and Nick Gould.

Raphaël Rouquier wins the 2009 Adams Prize

The Adams Prize is awarded jointly each year by the Faculty of Mathematics and St John's College Cambridge to a young (normally under 40 years of age), UK-based researcher doing first class international research in the Mathematical Sciences.

This year's topic was Representation Theory, and the Prize has been awarded to Professor Raphaël Rouquier of the Mathematical Institute, University of Oxford.

Professor Timothy Pedley, Chairman of the Adams Prize Adjudicators, said:

The quality, depth and influence of Professor Rouquier's work is already highly impressive. He has a long list of fundamental results, extending back to the late 1990s, on both the two main areas of representation theory: representations of general finite-dimensional algebras and derived categories, and representations of Lie groups in various forms.

Every one of the six papers submitted by Professor Rouquier has already had a major impact, despite the fact that no fewer than four of them were published in 2008 alone.

For further information see the original Cambridge University news article

Recognising and Rewarding Excellence in Teaching 2008

We are pleased to announce the following awards:

Lifetime Achievement Awards go to Dr David Acheson and Dr Peter Neumann O.B.E.

A New Appointee Award goes to Prof Tom Witelski.

Teaching Development Awards go to Dr Jan Grabowski, Prof Roger Heath-Brown, Prof Alison Etheridge, Prof Victor Flynn, and Dr Anne Henke

Recognition of Distinction

Congratulations to Michael Collins, John Lennox, and John Ockendon on the conferment of the title of Professor of Mathematics, and to Andrew Dancer and Xenia de la Ossa on the conferment of the title Reader in Mathematics.

Jim Murray to give the 2009 Bakerian Prize Lecture

Congratulations to Jim Murray (formerly of this department) on the award of the Bakerian Prize Lecture by the Royal Society

Roger Penrose awarded the Copley Medal

The Royal Society has awarded Roger Penrose the Copley medal, the world's oldest prize for scientific achievement for his exceptional contributions to geometry and mathematical physics.


Tamas Hausel awarded LMS Whitehead Prize

Congratulations to Tamas Hausel on the award of an LMS Whitehead Prize.

Ulrike Tillmann receives an FRS

Marcus du Sautoy to Receive Honorary Doctorate from the Open University

On the 12th of April Marcus du Sautoy will be receiving an Honorary Doctorate from the Open University at the Barbican "for services to the Arts & Science and exceptional contribution to education and culture."

Syndicate content