Oxford's Victorian Savilian Professors of Geometry - the latest in our history series

Our latest Oxford Mathematicians are the three Savilian Professors of Geometry who dominated Oxford’s mathematical scene during the Victorian era: Baden Powell (1796–1860), Henry John Stephen Smith (1826–83) and James Joseph Sylvester (1814–97). None was primarily a geometer, but each brought a different contribution to the role. Find out more.

The Savilians are the fourth in our series exploring Oxford's mathematical heritage.