Four more universities join the Alan Turing Institute

The Alan Turing Institute is the national institute for data science, headquartered at the British Library. Five founding universities – Cambridge, Edinburgh, Oxford, UCL and Warwick – and the UK Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council created The Institute in 2015. Now we are delighted to announce that four universities - Leeds, Manchester, Newcastle and Queen Mary University of London - are also set to join the Institute as university partners. The new universities will work with our growing network of partners in industry and government to advance the world-changing potential of data science.

Alan Wilson, CEO of the Institute, commented: “We are extending our university network in recognition of our role as a national institute and because we believe that increasing collaboration between researchers and private, public and third sector organisations will enable the UK to undertake the most ambitious, impactful research possible."

Peter Grindrod, Oxford Mathematics' nominee on the Turing board, said: “We are rightly proud to have launched the Alan Turing Institute in 2015, together with the other founding partners. The Turing is now on a journey to becoming a truly national endeavour, drawing in more universities and researchers and strengthening its international competitiveness. Data science and artificial intelligence will underpin many 21st century industry sectors; and, working with its partner universities, Turing is well placed to take a leading role in support of the Government’s Industrial Strategy.”