Dr Leonard Smith has been awarded the Fitzroy Prize of the Royal Meteorological Society for 2003. The award is made for `Distinguished work in applied meteorology' and is aptly named. Captain Fitzroy is most often remembered as the Commander of HMS Beagle, and this award was earned by the work of both current and former department members including Mark Roulston, David Orrell, Jim Hansen and Isla Gilmour. Fitzroy also founded the Met Office in 1854 to provide meteorological and sea current information to mariners while Mark now downloads weather forecasts every night and dresses them to make them more useful for our industrial Faraday partners.

Please contact us for feedback and comments about this page. Created on 31 May 2003 - 10:00.