Prizes and Awards

Congratulations to Professor Gunnar Martinsson, recipient of the 2017 Dahlquist Prize.

SIAM's Dahlquist Prize was established in 1995 and is awarded for  original contributions to fields associated with Germund Dahlquist, 
especially the numerical solution of differential equations and numerical methods for scientific computing. The prize honours Prof. Martinsson for fundamental contributions to numerical analysis and scientific computing that are making a significant impact in data science applications.

Find out more about the prize here.

Congratulations to Professor Nick Trefethen, who has been awarded the prestigious George Pólya Prize by the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM). The Prize for Mathematical Exposition, established in 2013, is awarded every two years to an outstanding expositor of the mathematical sciences.

Congratulations also to Florian Wechsung who won a prize for best student presentation at the 27th Biennial Conference on Numerical Analysis at the University of Strathclyde. His talk was entitled "Shape Optimization with Geometric Constraints Using Moreau-Yosida Regularization"

Leslie Fox Blue Plaque

The unveiling of the blue plaque commemorating Leslie Fox, the first Oxford Professor of Numerical Analysis and another commemorating
another computer pioneer, Tom Kilburn, took place in Dewsbury on the wall of the railway station on 18th July 2017, by Leslie's widow,
Clemency Fox and Tom Kilburn's son, John. 
The eighteenth competition for the Leslie Fox Prize mentioned on the plaque was held on 26th June 2017 at Strathclyde University and was
won by Nicole Spillane (Ecole Polytechnique, Paris).

Please contact us with feedback and comments about this page. Last updated on 11 Oct 2023 09:29.