Nigel Hitchin's 70th birthday conference

In celebration of Nigel Hitchin's 70th birthday and in honour of his contributions to mathematics, a group of his former students and his colleague Frances Kirwan, in partnership with the Clay Mathematics Institute, are organising a conference in September 2016. It will begin in Aarhus with a workshop on differential geometry and quantization and end in Madrid with a workshop on Higgs bundles and generalized geometry, with a meeting in Oxford in between aimed at a general audience of geometers.

The three components of the conference are:

Hitchin70: Differential Geometry and Quantization, QGM, Aarhus, 5-8 Sept. 2016

Hitchin70: Mathematical Institute, Oxford, 9-11 Sept. 2016

Hitchin70: Celebrating 30 years of Higgs bundles and 15 years of generalized geometry, ICMAT, Madrid, 12-16 Sept. 2016

More information, including registration, can be found at

The confirmed speakers at the Oxford component of Hitchin70, which is supported by the London Mathematical Society are:

Sasha Beilinson
Fedor Bogomolov
Philip Candelas
Bill Goldman
Klaus Hulek
Maxim Kontsevich
Marta Mazzoco
Shigefumi Mori
Shing-Tung Yau

A poster can be downloaded here

Nigel Hitchin is one of the most influential figures in the field of differential and algebraic geometry and its relations with the equations of mathematical physics. He has made fundamental contributions, opening entire new areas of research in fields as varied as spin geometry, instanton and monopole equations, twistor theory, symplectic geometry of moduli spaces, integrables systems, Higgs bundles, Einstein metrics, hyperkähler geometry, Frobenius manifolds, Painlevé equations, special Lagrangian geometry and mirror symmetry, generalized geometry and beyond. He is the Savilian Professor of Geometry at University of Oxford and was previously the Rouse Ball Professor of Mathematics at Cambridge University. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society and has been the President of the London Mathematical Society.

Please contact us with feedback and comments about this page. Last updated on 02 Apr 2022 21:54.