OxPDE Seminar Series

  • There is a OxPDE Research Group Partial Differential Equations seminar series at 4pm on most Mondays in term time, with renowned global speakers. 
  • There is an OXPDE seminar series held at midday on most Thursdays in term time. Details are here.  
  • Additonally there is an OxPDE Student Seminar series on Fridays - organsied by CDT Students - please contact Chris Irving for details. 
  • The OXPDE group also meets informally each week for coffee (Thursdays at 11am online at the moment) and other social occasions. 
  • The OxPDE CDT has an active social programme (on hold during the pandemic) but hopefully restarting soon. 





Spring / Summer 2022

OxPDE is willing to support visits by academics especially early career researchers where such a visit is likely to be beneficial to both parties and is fully funded. Details of currently open calls and the department process.

Summer 2021

The OxPDE welcomes the following new members of the team:

OxPDE/PDE CDT Administrator:        Kerri Louise Howard FInstAM

Spring 2021

We are delighted to announce our OxPDE alumnus Dr. Matthew Schrecker has been awarded an EPSRC Early Career Fellowship Grant for his project on Shock Waves in Gas Dynamics.  Please click here for further details.

Congratulations to Dr. Kaibo Hu on being awarded a Royal Society University Research Fellowship (2022) for his project on Finite Elements for Geometry. 

Congratulations to Dr. David Gomez Castro on being awarded the 2022 Antonio Valle prize for Young Researchers from the Spanish Society of Applied Mathematics (SeMA).  Please click here for further details.

Winter 2020

Congratulations to Prof. José A. Carrillo, who has been elected Foreign Member of the Spanish Royal Academy of Sciences.

Congratulations to Prof Sir John Ball (Former Director of OxPDE, Emeritus Professor and formerly Sedleian Professor of Natural Philosophy), who has been elected new President of the Royal Society of Edinburgh. For further details, please visit Royal Society of Edinburgh here.

We are delighted to announce Prof. Endre Suli has been awarded the 2021 LMS Naylor Prize and Lectureship in Applied Mathematics.

Autumn 2020

The OxPDE welcomes the following new members of the team:

OxPDE/PDE CDT Administrator:        Dr  Gail Savage

Hooke Research Fellow:                    Dr  Matias Gonzalo Delgadino

Postdoctoral Research Associates:    Dr  David Gomez Castro

Dr  Krzysztof Ciosmak

 Dr  Benjamin Fehrman

Dr  Kaibo Hu

Dr  Alexis Michelat

Dr  Daniele Semola

Dr  Jan Joachim Sbierski

August 2020

We are pleased to announce Endre Suli has been elected to Academia Europaea. 

July 2020

Prof Gui-Qiang G Chen has been elected Fellow of the European Academy of Sciences

Cristiana De Filippis has been awarded this year’s Gioacchino Iapichino prize in Mathematical Analysis by the Italian National Academy, the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei.

January 2019

Prof Jean Van Schaftingen (UCLouvain) is giving a joint CDT/TCC course on Sobolev mappings into manifolds 11am Fridays (18 Jan - 8 Mar).

May 2018

Andreas Sojmark awarded the Bar-Ilan Young Researcher Prize in Financial Mathematics

January 2018

Prof Wen Shen (Penn State) is giving a joint CDT/TCC course on Numerical Methods for Hyperbolic Conservation Laws 2pm Tuesdays (16 Jan - 13 Mar).

November 2017

In November Prof Alberto Bressan (Penn State) will be giving a short course on Hyperbolic Conservation Laws. Full details.

January 2017

Prof Chen discusses his work on the Mathematics of Shock Reflection-Diffraction.

November 2016

Prof Gui-Qiang Chen elected Fellow of the American Mathematical Society

April 2016

Endre Suli elected SIAM Fellow

October 2015

New PDE CDT newsletter

June 2015

A site for papers dedicated to Bryce McLeod has been launched, following the recent memorial workshop for J B McLeod. Details

3-5pm Monday 1 and Tuesday 2 June 2015 in L5 - A Comparison of Classical and Modern Methods for Proving Existence of Solutions to some  nonlinear ODE Boundary Value Problems arising from PDEs and Differential-Integral Equations - Professor Stuart Hastings (Pittsburgh)

May 2015

4pm, Tuesday 5 May - Euler Equations and Applications - Prof D Wang (Pittsburgh) C6

April 2015

Bifurcation Theory in PDEs Lecture Course starts 9am Thursday 30 April 2015

February 2015

Fenics Mini-Course 2-4pm on Friday 13 and 27 February in L4

January 2015

Oxford Mathematical Sciences ranked first in 2014 Research Excellence Framework! Details 

September 2014

PDE CDT Co-Director Sir John Ball has been re-elected to International Council for Science Executive Board.
Please contact us with feedback and comments about this page. Last updated on 02 Apr 2024 11:31.